Skip to content

A Mixed Bag

November 16, 2009

That’s pretty much how the past few days have gone – some good, some not-so-good. Despite all the craziness of the weekend, I went into work with a clear head and a good attitude.  Bosses think I have a great idea, actually, so I’m currently hard at work on the coming Rossum TV spot.  I  have no idea how I managed to pull that off, but hey, I solve problems.  That’s just what I do.  Due to that, this’ll be a quick post.

I think Matt and I had a fight, but I’m not really sure.  I ended up spilling all about the video I saw.  About all the people downing on my client.  He seemed to get defensive and pretty much told me I was stupid for even considering that the twitter populace might be onto something.  While it felt good that someone else thought it was as ludicrous as I’d like to think it is, I can’t believe he would say those things to me.  It was just a side of him I’ve never seen before.  When I asked him (okay, I raised my voice ….. a little) for some support and explained how scared I’ve been, he turned right back into normal, supportive and charming Matt.  He said he was just a little mad that I hadn’t come to him right away when all this started.  I guess we both showed a little less of our ideal selves.  I suppose I should be happy that we’re lowering our dating masks a bit, but I’m still upset over how it felt.

Right afterward, he insisted on making it up to me by taking me to Saks. I didn’t (and still don’t) feel comfortable about guys buying me stuff, but somehow there’s a pair of the sexiest shoes on my table at this very moment.  And holy crap! Not that I pay attention to these things, but they cost 478 buckaroos!  They’re absurdly gorgeous and I cannot wait to show them off.

So, I’m trying to keep this whole video thing in perspective.  It can’t be me.  That’s all there is to it.  Still going to take that self-defense class though.  Best to be cautious, after all.  Maybe I can use it to defend my girlfriends from creepy guys.  That’s me, kicking butt in brand-new fabulous shoes.  😉

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Max Bell permalink
    November 16, 2009 8:35 pm

    If you have a facebook account…

    Wanted to post that because I thought it might cheer you up a bit. I’m not that into clothes, but I thought this was a terribly cool design and the sort of straight-jacket look of the thing might inject some humor into the weirdness of the last couple of days. People are weird. Internet conspiracy freaks are weirder than most, though…

  2. Kimi permalink
    November 16, 2009 8:48 pm

    I don’t think you need self defense classes – you can just stab people to death with those heels!

    Matt sounds like he has a bit of a temper. I hope you’re not rushing into things too quickly. After all you’ve only known him a few weeks and now he’s buying you really expensive shoes. Some guys can appear very sweet at the start but once you accept a few gifts they think they own you, literally.

  3. November 16, 2009 9:26 pm

    Hi there, been reading your blog, I miss New York like crazy!
    So – you’re lowering your dating masks – does this mean you and Matt are an item now?

  4. Christa permalink
    November 16, 2009 10:33 pm

    I agree with Kimi – both on the shoes (which are gorgeous btw) and on Matt. Sometimes it takes a while to get below the surface when meeting people, and sometimes what you find underneath is very….different. Just be careful.

    PS I’d appreciate your input if you’ve got a second. I’ve been asked to look into PR companies for a friend of mine with a budding project, and I came across one called Arachnocraft. Have you heard of them? Are they well thought of in the field? Thanks!

    • November 16, 2009 10:38 pm

      Nope, never heard of them, sorry. Regarding Matt, I really want him to be as awesome as he seems. I didn’t tell him the name of this blog and I hope he doesn’t find it (because then I’ll feel really silly about posting personal stuff), but the thing is – I’m torn. He’s a real person, you guys are not (no offense). Yet, all your warnings have me worried. I’ll be careful. We have another date on Friday night and I’d lie to say I’m not both anxious and excited.

      • Max Bell permalink
        November 16, 2009 10:49 pm

        You could always go through and purge some of the weirder comments.

        Since you seem apprehensive? Talk to a friend and arrange a check-in time, then call or text them at the designated time to let them know you’re okay. If you don’t, they should send someone to check on you.

        Kind of a sneaky thing to do to someone you’re dating, but New York has a lot of weirdos there. You never know. And certain people respond unpredictably to certain types of treatment.

  5. November 16, 2009 11:07 pm

    That’s a very good idea, Max. I feel a bit dishonest doing that, but I think I’ll arrange a check-in with Liz. You’ve been very helpful and I appreciate it.

    • EllaC permalink
      November 17, 2009 9:16 am

      Hey, Alex — found your blog through a friend of mine. She’s in PR and found your latest project for Rossum. She says that it looks great! (She’s also insanely jealous of your skills 😉 ) She also says not to worry about the intranet thing — there’s always glitches with a new system. Just be patient and the tech guys will iron it out, or come up with even better new solutions.

      I second the idea of a check-in. People aren’t always what they seem — you meet a guy, and he seems perfectly nice, and then a couple of months later he’s changed into someone completely different. We always put on our best faces when we meet someone, and we slowly let our guard down the more time we spend with them. I know, it sounds like I’m a crazy conspiracy theorist, but it’s always better to be safe than sorry, and there are a *lot* of crazies in the world! Also, I had a friend in the same situation as you, so I’m a little sensitive to stuff like this.

      Seriously — how much do you know about M? I mean, I’m a scientist, and there’s no way I could drop $478 on a pair of gorgeous shoes. You can delete this comment if you like (I understand *completely*) but think about it. There are lots of reasons that M might be trouble, as nice as he seems.

      Stay safe! I want to be able to read about all of your successes — your life sounds much more fun than my lab work!

  6. November 17, 2009 11:01 am

    Hi miss Dawson!

    I loved your blog, please keep writing. Not that I am some kind of weirdo who likes to know about other people’s lives (well, actually, I am), but I always enjoy to see that someone in this world has a real love story. I’d at least like to know if there’s a happy “going-on” between you and Matt (cuz “happy ending” is actually never ending… and I really hope I haven’t sounded dirty back there…).

    Also, I’ve known Rossum since a while ago and saw what you did on their website. Great work! (I didn’t even know they had a branch in São Paulo) I sincerely hope you have a great professional future ahead of you.

    About CTPs and all that crazy stuff you talked about, I wouldn’t worry if I were you. First of all, it’s the internets, there’s all kinds of crazy people let loose out there. Maybe you’ve been picked as a victim by some group of trolls. Also, Rossum is a HUGE corporation. Probably saying you work with them was what attracted so much attention. And not everybody is fond of them (obviously), thus some people may think that “attacking” you might cause harm to Rossum in some way.

    Anyways, ignore the bad things, enjoy the good ones and, most importantly, POST MORE NY PICTURES! I love that city (even though I’ve never been there).

Leave a comment