Skip to content

WTF?!

November 14, 2009

Wow.  This has been a strange 48hrs.  Thank god for alcohol!  And coffee.  Sadly, neither is helping my anxiety…..

So, when I got my twitter account, all these people started tweeting me about Rossum, and a video (more on that in a sec), and Iceland for some reason.  They’re asking very personal questions about my friends, my life and it’s really hard to keep up with all of them.  Unless I have something important to say, the tweets are going to be few and far between.

First off, Rossum is a good company.  Do any of you have any proof of Rossum doing shady practices?  I’m not sure what you people have against it, but there’s nothing bad about them, that I know of.  They’re simply a client that I have felt is worth all my efforts.  And there’s not much else I can say about that due to the NDA.  I’m worried that Monday when I tell them about all this (minus the video, paranoia and all), I might lose my job or something.  I’m working on a potential press release now.  I’ll just have to remind them that even crazy promotion is still promotion.  People are talking about them at least.

Matt and Liz are my friends.  You folks don’t really have the right to say anything bad about them, since you don’t know them.  Believe me, if one of them suddenly develops samurai skills or grows a second head, I’ll be sure to report on it.  This started out as a personal blog, that not many people knew about, and has turned into a bleeping circus with all kinds of strange comments.

The video.  Yep, it looks like me.  Sounds like me.  I look scared in that video.  I feel scared, right now, thinking about it.  It’s hard to watch something like that, seeing my face speaking words I’ve never said, never heard before (“ditch the tech”, wtf?).  I can’t decide if I have an estranged, separated at birth twin (mom, you got something to tell me?) or ….what else is possible?  Those crazy twitter people also mentioned it being from the future, lol.  It makes me feel a little crazy to even consider that this is not some sick joke, that this could actually be real and I’m the one who hasn’t caught up.

Just so the CTPs (crazy twitter people) will stop asking:

Nope, never been to Iceland.  Yes, Rossum has an office in Akranes. Next to the listing in the notes, it just says “Heiti branch”.  No, I don’t know why.

Matt’s a scientist.  He is not dumb, he’s smart and wonderful and treats me very well.  Liz is an anthropologist.  I sent her an email about pictures from Iceland, but when or if she sends them to me, I have no clue. We don’t talk about work much.  Anything else is frankly none of your business.

I don’t know anyone named Sara. Never heard of Spectrin, and they’ve never been a client of any place I worked.  I don’t know anyone pictured on the Spectrin website.

I don’t remember much about last night.  Liz told me about the cabbie’s accent, cause I was laughing at it and asking him questions just to get him to talk.  Boy, am I embarrassed about that…….

Oh, and December 4th is my 25th birthday, nothing coincidental about that.  I’m hosting a bash and none of you CTPs are invited, lol.

With all this paranoia and black vans business, I’m going to start taking a self-defense class.  I might need it.  I just don’t know what else to do.  I’m usually the problem solver, but that video just keeps playing out in my head…..”Oh god, they’re here.”

What am I going to do?

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Max Bell permalink
    November 14, 2009 10:15 pm

    Well? You’re a web designer. You ought to be used to the web whackjobs by now. They’re everywhere. Blame Perrin; he’s the one on TV whipping up the public imagination over this thing. Healthcare is the biggest public debate there’s been since the decision to invade Iraq, and as the initiative moves from the house to the Senate (with MANY questions as to whether or not the Senate will actually accomplish anything in the process), why should anyone be surprised that a senator is attacking a company on the bleeding edge of research in health care?

    Kind of takes the pressure off, doesn’t it?

    Rumors about this whole thing have been circulating since forever (does anybody ever fact check this stuff?) — I’d swear I’d heard something about it on TV a while back, but who knows? Still. This is strictly tin-foil hat stuff. ‘DitchTheTech’? What is that about? Great way to get the message out, guys, create a web site about getting rid of technology. Let’s start with your site!

    But what’s more likely? That somebody sent a message from the future (without the courtesy to send us a flux capacitor as a souvenir!) or that a politician astroturfed it together to cover up for the fact that he has no solutions of his own to offer?

    The sad truth of it is? The best way to put this whole thing to bed? Is probably to sift through the garbage floating around the web and twitter and facetube and wherever else and simply get to ‘the truth’, whatever that is, which, I strongly suspect, is just some corporate astroturfing hack (present company excluded, of course) shilling for a political agenda.

    There’s a rational explanation for all this. Let’s all calm down and try to find it.

    • November 14, 2009 10:36 pm

      Thank you! You seem nice and relatively sane. It helps to have rational people commenting, so I don’t feel like I’ve completely lost my mind.

  2. Adiar Shira permalink
    November 14, 2009 11:59 pm

    I think I can at least sort of explain the CTPs, as you have kindly labeled us, interest in you and your friends as well as your work. There have been a couple of creepy sites that apparently recently were created. I have no knowledge of who’s behind them, or even how to find that sort of thing out, and the only reason I’ve heard of them is through twitter. People that tweeted about them put the link and mentioned Rossum in the same tweet.

    One of them, Ditch the Tech, has had two different videos, both seemingly by the same female that apparently, for whatever reason, looks like you. The other, Wipe the Future, started out as a blank page that had white writing on it. I can’t remember what it said, but it’s message changed.

    Now, the most logical reason I can think of for people to be asking you all the things they have been is because you made your twitter account the same day that Wipe the Future took on a creepy look. Last I checked it still looks that way if you want to see what I mean: http://www.wipethefuture.com . If the right Codename and Password are used it takes the you to a screen that mentions Sara, Spectrin, Heiti, and something about a key. My guess, people think that you having any connection to Rossum means you would understand what those things mean, though I’m not one of the people that asked about any of them.

    The CTP that I am is @AdiarShira, and I’m sorry for suggesting that time travel is at all possible. I was freaking out and not thinking logically when I sent it. I received a phone call from Rossum’s number on the 12th, and they left a strange, automated message. I’m not sure if it was actually sent from someone in Rossum or if someone managed to hack their phones to send it, but it was strange. That mixed with the weirdness of the sites I mentioned earlier had my brain on some other level of thought. Again, I’m sorry for sending the tweet, I’m embarrassed that I actually sent it.

    I truly hope that all of this crazy mess doesn’t get you into trouble at work. You seem like (from the little I’ve read here) a nice person, and it’d be messed up for you to get into trouble over other people’s paranoia.

    Have fun at your birthday bash. I live in Arizona so it doesn’t bug me in the slightest that you don’t want us CTPs ((I’m really loving this term)) to know where it is. I wouldn’t be able to get there even if you posted a map with detailed directions.

    As for your last question: Be careful. On the off chance that there is some truth to the craziness, I don’t want something bad to happen to you because of our ramblings and crazy talk. You really do seem like a nice person, and, even though I don’t know you and probably never will, I would hate for something to happen to you.

  3. Kishi permalink
    November 15, 2009 2:23 am

    People are crazy- you never can tell what’ll set them off. But it might be someone’s playing a weird joke on you- you’re a web designer, maybe you (or someone you know) could find out some info about the website where the video is hosted?

  4. Jason permalink
    November 15, 2009 10:51 am

    Well, the question about taking self defense classes, I think, is always a good thing to do so, You will always be prepared, and feel safe.

  5. alder permalink
    November 15, 2009 4:08 pm

    How do you feel about tattoos? Perhaps something protective like a “Helm of Awe”? I hear they’ve been helpful to some folks in Iceland.

  6. Kimi permalink
    November 15, 2009 4:46 pm

    I think that’s an excellent idea, Alder. Perhaps Liz can help you Alex, as she’s interested in myth. She probably knows all about staves.

  7. November 15, 2009 6:02 pm

    Very nice work, Alex. Will you be doing Ambrose Enterprises next? I’m sure you’re well on the way to ascending the ladder of success!

  8. Katy permalink
    November 15, 2009 7:18 pm

    I’m sure I’ve seen you on TV, or on something before. Your face is so familiar! and its on the tip of my tongue.

    Twitter-Katy__N

Leave a Reply

