Skip to content

Chasing Ghosts

November 23, 2009

It’s been only two days, but feels like a whole month just passed. I’m too tired to make this interesting (or even readable), so will just describe the last 48hrs. in as much detail as I can remember.

Yesterday was spent mostly vegging with Robert and May’s children: Josie, who is 5 and Ethan, age 7. as I mentioned in the few emails I managed to sneak through last night, the Hunters really didn’t want me to use the computer or phone. I think they were afraid I’d tell someone that I was going in to work today and have them clear anything of importance.

As it turns out, all the precautions didn’t help – the moment I walked into the office, the receptionist pretty much took me by the elbow and led me to the VP’s office. I even tried to ask if I could just pop into the bathroom and freshen myself, but she said “Sorry, they asked that you go directly there. Besides, you look fine.”

I think I was shaking a bit by the time I sat down on the VP’s couch, because he said almost laughingly, “Relax, Alex! You’re just being let go. It’s not like I’m going to kill you.” I still don’t know whether he was joking or not. He then went on to say that my employment was being terminated without severance for breach of contract, that I violated my NDA with the company and with a specific client, and that they know about my Twitter account and this blog. He also said something about the blog making him worry about my psychological well-being, and that it’s probably for the best that I go back to Canada and take a long rest. I started crying and asked if I could go pack my things, but he said Jessie (the receptionist) had it handled and that she’d meet me at the lobby with any private items. He then called for security and they ushered me out to the lobby where we waited for about 15 minutes until Jessie came out. She had a small box that contained my hairbrush, two lipsticks, my face powder, a small tube of hair gel, a half-eaten bag of pretzels and the book I used to read during lunch: “Encyclopedia of an Ordinary Life”. I begged her to let me at least save some of my private files from my desktop, but she shook her head apologetically. She said she’d ask and email me anything they OK-ed. I haven’t received a thing, of course.

Robert was waiting for me at the coffee-shop inside the building and followed me outside. We then went back to his home where I proceeded to tweet and fret and cry some more. I think it was about an hour later, my phone buzzed with an SMS alert. I told Robert, who checked first, then showed it to me. It only said “I’m truly sorry.” The number was unlisted, but Robert got me to retrieve my account info online and called to request a list of recent activity (one of the many smart CTPs also suggested we do the same). The number they gave us for the text message was 1.800.000.000, so obviously that doesn’t help us any.

Of course I got it in my head that the message must have been from Matt. I still can’t believe that he didn’t have any feelings for me. I’m not usually that wrong about people, and I’ve always been very careful with men. I know I might just be in denial, or have Stockholm syndrome or whatever, but every time I think of him, instead of feeling the revulsion I should, my heart just aches.

After calling his number and getting an automated message saying it has been disconnected, I decided I just had to go to his place and confront him. Robert insisted that he come along, so we walked the ten or so blocks together. We told the doorman we were there to see Mateo  on the 11th floor, but he just shook his head. After some insisting and a barrage of questions, we got to speak to the super, who said he hadn’t seen Matt since Friday, and that on Saturday around 2pm half-dozen movers showed up, packed up all the furniture and left. Since they had keys and an authorization letter that matched the signature on file, he let them go ahead. So, that’s it – no sign of Matt, no note, nothing. I’d tell you I cried some more, but you’ve already guessed that.

This about covers my stuff. Liz is still not answering her phone either. I can’t believe that she worked for the bad guys, but I don’t know what else to think.

Regarding Sara, she was followed by a black van that attempted to run her off the road, and Robert is anxiously awaiting her call at the moment. Their colleague Tom was supposed to join her in Tucson yesterday to help, but according to the airline he never made his flight. He was driving a silver Audi from his home in Manhasset, Long Island to LaGuardia Airport. His car is not at the airport parking and there have been no accidents matching our description.

Everybody is worried about everything – that about sums it up. I don’t think things can get much worse at the moment 😦

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Ellie R permalink
    November 23, 2009 9:37 pm

    Hello Alex. I’m been watching quietly as this mess unfolded and didn’t join the CTPs (when they were the ones who seemed craziest, lol) Clearly thathas changed dramatically since then. Even if Rob is being very cautious, I feel that he trusts you completely, it’s just that Rossum has messed with the heads (in a neurological sense) of their employies before and he wants every one to be as safe as possible.
    Lastly, I have an idea as to the discrepancy between the new ditchthetech video and your present ( I don’t think you went on a business trip to Arizona lately) circumstances, please email me to discuss this further.
    Also if anyone starts talking about vases/flowers, it would be a good idea to get away as soon as possible. If something nefarious occured during the time you were at Matt’s and then at home with no recollection of the events, this may be a way Rossum could use you against Rob, May, even Sara. I’m sorry if that made little sense, but as we’ve both seen from the CTPs, sometimes what seems least logical, or even downright insane, is true after all.

    Take care and stay safe

  2. November 23, 2009 10:23 pm

    If you get any more calls with strange white noise or abnormal generated sounds, hang up. That’s my advice.

  3. Hannah permalink
    November 24, 2009 2:34 am

    Hey Alex!

    I don’t really know what to say! You’ve been through so much already and you’re doing brilliantly!
    I honestly wish I could help more, but the best I can do is to warn you again not to answer the phone. Apparently, that’s how Rossum gets to you.
    I think you are doing remarkably well, considering the circumstances. Chin up and keep going!

    Love, Hannah (@hannahsearson)

  4. viewingfigures permalink
    November 26, 2009 6:28 am

    Hi Alex, looks like I missed you online last night by moments.

    I am glad you are still safe, even if things have not improved. I also think it’s lovely that you seem to be concerned for Robert and his family, above yourself. You seem to have a very open and trusting nature.

    I hope you are resting as much as possible and keeping your strength up. As my fear is that Rossum will stop at nothing. Their actions so far have been sickening. And therein lies my concern with Matt.

    I really, like you, want Matt to be on the level. Certainly, the communications he has made with you, have lead to vital clues, which is good. But some of his fluctuations in behaviour and the sudden, unannouced appartment clearance, are red flags. And his latest clue could easily be translated that he regards you and he as Gods. That he sees you as an ascended being. Which for me provides worrying echoes of the work that Sara did which was later utilised by P T De Chardin in his work regarding The Omega Point Man.

    It is all the conflicting evidence which bemuses me the most. Lord knows how you feel. I recognise it may seem fantastic but there was a period in my life when I had to “disappear” and could not trust the authorities. I even had some friends and family turn on me. I remember whenever I tried to run my legs would feel heavy and sluggish. As if being caught would just end my troubles. It wasn’t a pleasant time physically or emotionally. Hope became my beacon of light.

    Of course it is entirely possible that Matt is a victim of coercion himself. Although I would caution that a man with a gun to his head, figuratively or literally, may not be reliable. I think for now it is best to work with Sara and think of yourselves. If Matt does turn out to be your shining knight no-one will cheer louder than me. (Except you – lol). Plus, hey, if he is the good guy, then I’m thinking that THAT apology has to come with many, many flowers and new shoes attached.

    Sending you my best wishes. Stay safe.

Leave a Reply

