Skip to content

Hello world!

September 25, 2009

Well, I’m finally giving into pressure from the family (and my good friend Laura) to start a blog where I can update on my life and post some pictures.  I didn’t realize how fascinating I must be, lol.  So I’ll start with an introduction.

Hello! My name is Alexandra Dawson.  No, I didn’t watch Dawson’s Creek.  I’m 24, single and living in the Big Apple and loving life!  I got the job of my dreams two years ago working in Public Relations.  I grew up in Toronto, but NYC always called to me, so I jumped at the opportunity.

I love the night life here.  There is always something happening, good or bad.  My fave night time hangout makes the best chocolate martini.  The dating scene is hopping, but I don’t really like to shop for dates in bars.  It’s like going to Goodwill and expecting to find a diamond necklace.  But I don’t mind a little flirting, lol.  I’m the one who usually keeps an eye on my gal pals to make sure they don’t do anything stupid.  😉

In the morning, I enjoy just sitting at a café, sipping my soy latte (with extra shot of espresso)  and watching people as they pass, wondering what their lives are like.  And wondering if our paths will ever cross again in any significant way, wondering if any of these thousands of people will ever be important to me.

My job keeps me busy, that’s for sure.  I write up press releases and consult on company brand and image.  Keeping a pulse on the mood of the world, the internet, the city helps to craft the thousands of ways that I can make a company look better, cleaner, more eco-friendly.  Or recover from a PR disaster, those are tough, but I love the challenge of it.  Some people might say it’s dishonest, but we all have a different face that we show to different groups of people.  To my friends, I’m the wildly opinionated, funny and slightly over-protective Alex.  To my bosses I’m the tough, go-getting and (hopefully) creative problem solver Alexandra.  And to my parents, I’m little Ally, who’s all grown up, but still needs to be reminded to avoid dark alleys, even though she’s perfectly knowledgeable about the dangers of the city (I love you too, mom! 😉 ) So, it’s all relative, right?

Anyway, I’ll be going to a family barbeque in Toronto in two weeks, so I’ll be sure to update after that torture. Totally kidding!

-A

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

